Anime Update-o! Juni Taisen: Zodiac War, Episode 10 – A Tiger May Die, But It Leaves Its Skin

 

I spoil stuff.

juni taisen rabbit1

Last week ended leaving us “guessing” over the fate of Rabbit as Tiger and Ox dismember his limbs. I mean, nobody thought the bunny was going out like that, did they? Granted, this anime has been masterful at introducing you to characters and building a little bit of attachment or sense of invulnerability and then ripping that away in moments by giving the character and short, simple death. In fact, when telling Kiku to catch up on the anime, I told her that they were less fight scenes and much more appropriately described as murder scenes.

But that’s been an aspect of the show that I’ve actually enjoyed. However, as mentioned, I just didn’t see it happening with Rabbit. As a necromancer, I was already assuming he’d be the hardest to kill. Couple that with the fact that he’s been masterfully cunning up until the moment he decided to dash headfirst at the rumored #1 of the entire competition (Ox) and company (Tiger). Someone who had taken out Monkey so effectively by placing Snake’s head in a tree as his own lookout had no reason to make such a reckless play, even if his tag is “killing psychotically”. And so when his arms flew through the air in attempt to skewer Ox, I wasn’t all that surprised. I was, however, surprised whenever Tiger jumped in the way of the blade.

juni taisen tiger

Tiger’s entire situation seemed a bit perplexing to me. In the previous episodes, it is discovered that she couldn’t handle the horror of the battlefield and war situations and so she mentally and emotionally broke, turning to alcohol. It was also known that she held a grudge against Ox, seemingly wanting to kill him the moment she laid eyes on him. Well, this episode finally connects the two, and it was a bit of a disappointment. I like Ox’s response on how he always does the right thing, telling Tiger “First, you must decide what the right thing is. Two, you do it.” It comes down to simple resolve, and I love that Ox had the opportunity to make his character a little cooler.

However, it definitely made Tiger a worse character for it. Instead of being a badass, drunken master like I’d hoped, the alcohol really is nothing but an escape. Not only that, but her reason for hunting down Ox turns out it is because she spent the majority of her recovery aspiring to be as he is (match his resole); only for him to not remember and thus not acknowledge her when they arrive at the Juni Taisen. The logic seemed ludicrous and flawed, even though I guess I can kind of see where Tiger might be coming from. However, as a warrior within the Juni Taisen, it seems a little incredulous that her focus is on recognition from another competitor she is destined to war against.

juni taisen tiger1

That being said, I did like that Tiger explained that she took the blade simply because she decided to do it. So she did it. Even though I didn’t like her back story, I am still a sucker for anime moments where a character shows development, and this was no different. When Ox asks about her grudge, I couldn’t help but laugh at how stupid it was going to sound if she really said what the issue was. But then she says “This is our first time meeting. I just don’t like serious brooding types like you.” 

Maybe we should have just kept it at that. Overall a fun episode to watch, despite my disappointment in Tiger’s story. I’m interested to see where the next episode goes and how Rabbit will ultimately be handled, if at all. There are many factors to consider. Where is Rat? Where is Monkey? With those two having a recent past, I can see them in an episode together again, this time as enemies. What are Rabbit’s limbs up to? 

Juni Taisen ratandmonkey

 

I think Ox is near the end of his days. Based on the history of the series, each time a character has begun to have their story revealed or start to look like a character even relatively in the spotlight, they’ve been eliminated. I liked Ox’s development this episode, but it will definitely be interesting to see if he’s the next character targeted in this slaughterfest of an anime series. Personally, I’m thinking Rat may live up to his phrase. Guess we will have to see! 

juni taisen rat.png

As always, thanks for reading!

1 Comment

  1. Interesting.. Killing all, like slowly spreading a disease! I’d like to think rat will win.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment